Neighbors in Colorado, Oklahoma, and Missouri all have access to marijuana but Kansas laws are stuck in the 1920s.
As surrounding states enact more progressive views of cannabis, Kansas lags behind in loosening restrictions on the plant that they still consider a controlled substance. Kansas does not allow the recreational or medical use of marijuana. In the eyes of Kansas law, weed is still classified as a Schedule 1 controlled substance, right there with meth and heroin.
Possession: Possession, distribution, growing, and cultivating marijuana is all illegal in the Sunflower State. Penalties are only slightly less strict than being caught with cocaine and other drugs. First time offenders can face one year in jail and a $2,500.00 fine. Second offense penalties range from 10 months to 42 months in jail and a fine up to $100,000.00.
Selling: Penalties for the sale or distribution of marijuana in Kansas can get you 10 months to 17 years in prison as well as a $500,000.00 fine. The justice system will assume that you intended to sell it if you are caught with at least 450 grams. You’ll be in even bigger trouble if you’re caught within 1,000 feet of school property.
Cultivation: Growing Mary Jane in Kansas is illegal. Depending on the number of plants and your criminal record, you could face 4 years to 17 years in prison.